top of page

We flock from all over the world to visit  the medieval village of Saint  Emilion, located a few kilometers from La Vigneraie de Laura.

Listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1999 as a "cultural landscape", the jurisdiction is a remarkable example of a historic wine-growing landscape that has survived and is still active today.

Indeed, the Saint Emilion vineyard has nearly 1000 wine châteaux. Among these, there are 4 grands crus classified A (Château Ausone, Château Cheval Blanc, Château Pavis and Château Angélus) then follows the 14  Grands crus classified B (Châteaux Beau-séjour Bécot, Beauséjour, Bélair-Monange, Canon, Canon La Gaffelière, Fourtet, Figeac, La Gaffelière, La Mondotte, Larcis Ducasse, Paie Macquin, Troplong Mondot, Trottevielle and Valandraud)  then the grands crus classified 54 in number !!!

The dominant grape variety of the Saint Emilion appellation  is Merlot (79% planted), completed by  Cabernet Franc (15%) and   Cabernet Sauvignon (more weakly) as well as some almost anecdotal niches of Malbec, Petit Verdot and Carménère. Very different, both in their wine-growing behavior and in their aromatic expression.

Around Saint Emilion, 125 Châteaux welcome you for tours and tastings. Some have remarkable architectures, such  Château La Dominique with Jean Nouvel or Château  from Pressac,  others are distinguished by their immense underground galleries, such as Château Rochebelle or Villemaurine among others.

When you cross the walls of the Medieval city, many panoramas on the roofs or on the surrounding landscapes are offered to you. 12 unmissable monuments are available to you, Churches (including the 12th century monolithic church, the largest in Europe) cloisters, mounds, washhouses ... some can be visited with a guide (OT Saint Emilion).

On foot, by bicycle (electric or not), by Tuk Tuk, by small train, by motorbike, by "bikeboard" or even by hot-air balloon, different ways to visit this real open-air museum !!!

In order to restore you, many restaurants in the village or in the surroundings welcome you to make you discover the gastronomy of the South-West.

 

bottom of page

On se presse du monde entier pour visiter le village médiéval de Saint Emilion, situé à quelques kilomètres de La Vigneraie de Laura.

Classé au Patrimoine Mondial de l'Humanité par l'UNESCO en 1999, au titre de "paysage culturel", la juridiction est un exemple remarquable d'un paysage viticole historique qui a survécu et qui est encore en activité de nos jours.

En effet, le vignoble de Saint Emilion compte près de 1000 châteaux viticoles. Parmi ceux-ci, on compte 4 grands crus classés A ( Château Ausone, Château Cheval Blanc, Château Pavis et Château Angélus ) suit ensuite les 14 Châteaux grands crus classé B ( Châteaux Beau-séjour Bécot, Beauséjour, Bélair-Monange, Canon, Canon La Gaffelière, Fourtet, Figeac, La Gaffelière, La Mondotte, Larcis Ducasse, Paie Macquin, Troplong Mondot, Trottevielle et Valandraud ) puis les grands crus classés au nombre de 54 !!!

Le cépage dominant de l'appellation saint Emilion est le Merlot ( planté à 79% ), complété par  le Cabernet Franc ( 15% ) et  du Cabernet Sauvignon ( plus faiblement )ainsi que de quelques niches presque anecdotiques de Malbec, Petit Verdot et Carménère. Bien différents, tant dans leur comportement viticole que dans leur expression aromatique.

Aux alentrours de Saint Emilion, 125 Châteaux vous accueillent pour des visites et des dégustations. Certains ont des architectures remarquables, tel le Château La Dominique avec Jean Nouvel ou Château de Pressac, d'autres se distinguent par leurs immenses galeries souterraines, tel Château Rochebelle ou Villemaurine entre autres.

Lorsque vous franchissez l'enceinte de la cité Médiévale, de nombreux panoramas sur les toits ou sur les paysages alentours s'offrent à vous. 12 monuments incontournables s'offrent à vous, Eglises ( dont l'église monolithe du XIIé siècle, la plus grande d'Europe ) cloîtres, tertres, lavoirs ....certains se visitent avec un guide ( OT Saint Emilion ).

A pieds, à vélos ( éléctique ou pas ), en Tuk Tuk, en petit train, en moto, en "bikeboard" ou même en montgolfière, différentes manières de visiter ce véritable musée à ciel ouvert !!!

Afin de vous restaurer, de nombreux restaurants dans le village ou aux alentours vous accueillent pour vous faire découvrir la gastronomie du Sud-Ouest.